Thoughts on Social Dance

You know what’s cool?

Social dancing.

For one month during my sophomore year of high school, we had a Dance unit. Seeing that this was the first time that the classes were co-ed, social dancing was a way to have the girls and boys work together. I was lucky enough to be partnered up with guy of my height, which made it that much easier. It was probably then when I figured, “Hey. This is pretty cool.”

Our school has a social dancing club called Maritini Swingers and a couple of weeks ago they had their spring showcase and I absolutely loved it. The spins, the partner dancing, the music. The whole shebang. Loved it. Last night, they had a Spring Show and the name was quite decieving. It was just an opportunity for the club to come together one last time before the end of the year and dance with people. Last year, I had a friend teach me the basics of swing dance again and I picked up right where I left off last night and learned a whole new repertoire of social dances from the Lindy Hop to Ballroom Waltz.

When I was younger, my Mother put me in dance classes for a couple years and that covered ballet, jazz, and hip hop. But social dancing was a whole new world for me. No matter how different the world, I picked up the subtle hand signals rather quickly and just went with the musical flow. Since I was learning a whole bunch of new dances, I had my friend be my primary dance partner, but I did get the opportunity to dance with other guys. Each had their own personal style in how they lead and how they themselves got into the music. You always learn something new with another dance partner.

Upon reflecting on my experience last night, I realize that I really miss dancing. The way you can express yourselves (either by yourself or with a partner) to the rhythm of the music is really entrancing. Even while dancing, sometimes I feel like I’m having an out-of-body experience. Bizarre, yes, but dancing is a wonderful thing to reflect upon. It really shows your personality in a whole new way.

I plan on joining Martini Swingers (as if I’m not involved in so many other things) and I only hope that there are other people out there who feel the same way about social dancing.

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

